Does anyone remember Polk Hobby?

Introduce yourself and reminisce
lowrybt1

Does anyone remember Polk Hobby?

Post by lowrybt1 »

Hello,

I'm joining the osiweb forum and am so thrilled to see that there is still a dedicated corps of OSI users and experts. I'm not an expert but I am a lifelong devotee to the OSI C1P. At the age of 16, with help from my parents, I purchased a C1PMF from Polk Hobby in downtown Manhattan. I can no longer remember the names of the people who staffed Polk's computer department but at the time they seemed like rock stars to me. I cannot begin to estimate how many hours I spent in the rather dark and somewhat damp basement space of the store where the OSI equipment and accessories were tucked away. To get mods added to the machine (RS-232, etc) I would regularly schlepp my heavy, C1PMF in its giant box from my apartment on 96th street down to Polk's on 32nd street and 5th avenue, riding the M4 bus all the way -- with passengers staring and wondering what in the world was in the blue and white box labeled OSI that sat on (crushing) my lap.

I treasure those memories and experiences. Learning to program (write Basic code) on the C1P, to tackle problems using Boolean logic\code, implement bubble-sort routines and grasp the power of DIM statements helped me to evolve from an average student to a motivated student. By the time I entered college as an engineering student and had to confront my first FORTRAN course, I was more than ready for the challenge. Converting decimal to hexadecimal or octal or binary was no problem. I learned how to do all those things on my C1PMF.

My two magnum opuses on the C1PMF were two complex programs both written in Basic: