Hi there fellow 6502ers!

Introduce yourself and reminisce
g-man

Hi there fellow 6502ers!

Post by g-man »

In the early 70's I worked as a technician for a silicon valley company in CA who "saw the light" and switched their technology base from fixed analog HW to SW utilizing the Intel 4040 4 bit CPU for their first iteration of new products. Those of us in the technical and engineering departments had to come up to speed quickly on the new technology. To help, the company purchased 2 new minicomputers: an Intel Intellect, and DEC PDP-8E which could run 3K FOCAL. Long story short... I still remember the epiphany moment when I wrote my 1st FOCAL program to solve arbitrary triangles with 3 unknowns - it was a religious experience! I came up to speed quickly putting together my own SBC based on 4040 & 4089 chips, with 256 byte EPROM, and RAM and utilizing a switch & LED interface with parts that were, eh em, "borrowed" from work. I was in heaven... working all day in the lab on the new minicomputers developing company products, before retiring home each evening to my own lab (otherwise known as a kitchen table) where I happily flipped switches until the wee hours of the morning; completely unaware that I was becoming addicted for life!