Dusting off the Memories

Introduce yourself and reminisce
Getagrip

Dusting off the Memories

Post by Getagrip »

Hello all

I have been dragging my OSI systems around for 40 years and I figure it is time to dust them off and get them running.

I learned BASIC programming on an OSI Challenger 3 in high school, then got a few jobs developing software on OSI along with being a repair technician.

I have a Superboard II that seems to have no clock signal. I am in the process of fixing that and then seeing what else needs help.

My OSI C28P is going to be a longer term project. I believe I have the CPU board running with Basic in ROM, 8k Ram, ACIA, and SYNMON rom. I put a FT232RL FTDI Mini USB to TTL Serial Converter Adapter on the serial lines to transfer files at 300 baud. I fixed a broken diode on the keyboard and did a lot of swapping of 8t26 buffer chips to get everything functional. The 542 video card is currently flaking out after warming up, so I am trying to troubleshoot the final video combiner circuitry.

At one point I did a full disassembly and documentation of the OS65D basic and OS along with some of the monitor ROMs and the OS65U disk drivers. I have a dual 8 inch drive setup that needs some TLC along with a box of 20 or so floppies. I also have a "473" IBM/OSI floppy controller that I am going to try to get functional.

I am happy to discuss any of the features of the OSI cards or OSI software.
Challenger 8P - 502,542,527,470, dual floppy
Superboard II - Revb, disfunctional
Quest Super Elf - running, working on expansion board
Also Boards: 430b,470b,473,495,524,530,550
bxdanny

Re: Dusting off the Memories

Post by bxdanny »

Hello Getagrip, and welcome.

Your experiences with OSI seem to have been similar to mine. I also had both a C1P and a C2-8P, which like yours was based on a 502 board but converted for floppy operation. And I also worked as a combination programmer and technician for a couple of OSI dealerships.