Building the KLyball 610

Jeff
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 4:44 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Building the KLyball 610

Post by Jeff » Fri May 15, 2015 2:20 am

R10 RX Clock
Remove floppy-disk cable (J3).
Connect a jumper from pin 9 of J3 to pin 10 of J3.
Input of scope to pin 5 of U70.
Adjust R10 for a positive pulse width of 1uSec.
R10 Adjustment.jpg
R10 Adjustment.jpg (93.26 KiB) Viewed 7354 times
R19 RX Data
Remove floppy-disk cable (J3).
Connect a jumper from pin 9 of J3 to pin 11 of J3.
Input of scope to pin 4 of U70.
Adjust R19 for a negative pulse width of 6uSec.
R19 Adjustment.jpg
R19 Adjustment.jpg (124.44 KiB) Viewed 7354 times
Special Build Note:
I had to change R20 to 10K ohms in order to get R19 to set the correct pulse width.
Image

MK14HAK
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:49 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Building the KLyball 610

Post by MK14HAK » Mon May 25, 2015 1:45 am

Using 8" Drives:
TxCLK= 250KHz
TXCLK=260ns +- 25ns
TXDATA=260ns
RXCLK=1uS
RXDATA=2.75uS R20=4K7
600RevB:16K,2MHz,64x32,470,CEGMON
SuperKit:502,540B,542B,CEGMON, 8" and 5" FDDs
Cards:PE IO,6522 D-A-D, AY3-8910,ProgramGraphics,Color,UK101
WIP:Archive/Restore Util,HexDOS,FDD Emulator

Jeff
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 4:44 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Building the KLyball 610

Post by Jeff » Sat May 30, 2015 1:21 pm

For the last week or so, I have been trying to get a floppy drive working with the 610. As it turns out, (after MANY hours of testing and hair-pulling) I discovered that I made a mistake when building it. The symptoms were that the 6821 was just not doing anything! No input, no output, nothing. I finally traced it to a LOW state on the /RESET pin of the 6821. The 6821 was being held in a perpetual state of RESET. R42 is supposed to pull the pin high after the system boots, but I had soldered one of its legs into the wrong hole on the board, and so it wasn't connected to +5V.

So, anyone building one, should be aware of this potential "gotcha!"
610 R42 Placement.jpg
610 R42 Placement.jpg (166.65 KiB) Viewed 7323 times
/Jeff
Image

BillO
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Building the KLyball 610

Post by BillO » Fri Jun 26, 2015 12:23 pm

Not having much time to work on this is leaving me a little frustrated. While I was at least able to read and write to disks using my old 600B board, the new 600D can read, but is only writing a string $24 all over the disk (except track0) during initialization (or anything else). I can read them, but not write. So more debugging...

...Sigh!
Box stock Superboard II Rev. B
KLyball replica 600D, replica 610 & KLyball Data Separator
OMS SBME and SBME+ memory cards
KLyball memory card

Jeff
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 4:44 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Building the KLyball 610

Post by Jeff » Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:22 am

I have completed building the Klyball 610.

Here is a hires photo:
http://www.jeffferguson.ca/osi/610/CompleteWith24K.jpg

And here is a photo of an original OSI-built 610, Rev B:
http://www.jeffferguson.ca/osi/610/OSI_610_revB.jpg

(Dave, you might want to post this to your Hardware archive, as there isn't a photo of a 610 board in there)

/Jeff
Image

Klyball
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:53 am

Re: Building the KLyball 610

Post by Klyball » Tue Sep 29, 2015 12:01 am

Can some one check there 610 board if there is a connection between pin 9 of U10 and pin 1 of U11,
my 610 is missing the trace so the replica is also missing this trace.
OSI_610-7.jpg
OSI_610-7.jpg (70.21 KiB) Viewed 7067 times
Thanks
Replica 600 Rev D:8K,CEGMON
Replica 610 Rev B: 24k,MPI B-51 with Custom Data separator D-13
510 on the bench/replica 582 backplane/replica 470a /replica 555/original 570B/2 x Shugart 851
Ongoing : 630 ,620 ,510,542c,custom 590,SA1200,592,594,596,598

BillO
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:03 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Building the KLyball 610

Post by BillO » Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:52 pm

Klyball wrote:Can some one check there 610 board if there is a connection between pin 9 of U10 and pin 1 of U11,
my 610 is missing the trace so the replica is also missing this trace.

Thanks
Hi Grant, did you ever resolve this? What happens if you connect pin 9 of U10 and pin 1 of U11?
Box stock Superboard II Rev. B
KLyball replica 600D, replica 610 & KLyball Data Separator
OMS SBME and SBME+ memory cards
KLyball memory card

Klyball
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 12:53 am

Re: Building the KLyball 610

Post by Klyball » Thu Oct 08, 2015 12:13 am

Making the connection give the desired results, if your using hexdos for RTC you need the 1 sec pulse .

Just wondering if anyone one with a real 610 has this connection in copper, its not on my original 610, but it looks to be a later production run as it has solder mask on the back
Replica 600 Rev D:8K,CEGMON
Replica 610 Rev B: 24k,MPI B-51 with Custom Data separator D-13
510 on the bench/replica 582 backplane/replica 470a /replica 555/original 570B/2 x Shugart 851
Ongoing : 630 ,620 ,510,542c,custom 590,SA1200,592,594,596,598

Jeff
Posts: 244
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 4:44 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Building the KLyball 610

Post by Jeff » Wed Nov 08, 2017 5:41 pm

Image

Post Reply